GALLERY: All-new 2014 Acura RLX – Honda’s 5-Series

2014 Acura RLX

Here’s a fresh and very large gallery of the all-new 2014 Acura RLX, a car we first saw in December last year. The RLX is Acura’s answer to popular mid-size luxury stalwarts like the BMW 5-Series, Audi A6 and Lexus GS, although the company is also hoping to encroach into the class above.

New to the RL’s replacement is an all-new engine from the Earth Dreams Technology series, a lighter body structure, and new tech such as Acura Precision All-Wheel Steer, Jewel Eye LED headlamps and the AcuraLink cloud-connected ICE system.

The RLX is also said to offer class-leading interior space, with three inches more rear legroom than competing models. Width, wheelbase, and front/rear track are all up on the RL.

The RLX’s new 3.5 litre V6 engine has 310 hp and 370 Nm, and Acura says over 90% of the latter is available from 2,000 to 6,000 rpm. The direct-injection i-VTEC SOHC unit can shut off cylinders when not needed and run on reduced displacement mode for fuel savings.

2014 Acura RLX

The engine, which is paired to a Sequential SportShift six-speed auto with steering paddles, is mounted to a lightweight and rigid aluminum front subframe using a vibration-canceling Active Control Engine Mount (ACM) system.

The standard Precision All-Wheel Steer (P-AWS) system continuously monitors and calculates the correct amount of independent rear-wheel steering (toe angle) necessary for driving conditions. As the industry’s first left/right independent rear-wheel toe angle control system, P-AWS uses an all-electric system that enhances driving dynamics.

Not the most original design perhaps, but the RLX is handsome nonetheless. Mega gallery of nearly 200 high-res pics after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Alpha on Feb 19, 2013 at 12:11 am

Any news of a JDM version of this RLX using the Honda Legend badge?

• kadajawi on Feb 19, 2013 at 9:32 am

Acura is a near dead brand. I dunno why Honda wants to revive it. Just put the prestigious Honda badge and it will sell better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • alldisc™ on Feb 19, 2013 at 10:41 am

Honda was never good in large sedan sales, even from the very first Legend and the slightly smaller Accord Inspire 2.5 RWD. even in Japan.

and maybe Malaysia as well since we get Inspire version here in 8th gen Accord.

• Lexus sales up 24.5%
        2012 : 282,416
        2011 : 226,906

Acura sales up 26.7%
        2012 : 156,216
        2011 : 123,299

Infiniti sales up 21.8%
        2012 : 119,877
        2011 : 98,461

Facts dont tell lies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • F10 523i on Feb 19, 2013 at 1:06 pm

Looks great,but still can’t beat my 523i lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
          • ferrari 458 italia on Feb 19, 2013 at 5:49 pm

523i look lame still cant beat my ferrari 458 italia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
          • VW Fanboi on Feb 19, 2013 at 7:40 pm

My Bugatti will eat your fart-lari 458 italia for breakfast.

• cosmo on Feb 19, 2013 at 10:52 pm

please la… 523i also dare to talk so loud here…. still cant beat my GS350 f-sport…

• thedarkside on Feb 19, 2013 at 11:05 pm

my hennessy venom will make all your cars look like pussycat…miaw miaw

• AVH® on Feb 19, 2013 at 11:57 pm

hehehe…..sure looks fun

…still can’t beat my SSC Tuatara, sorry, my imaginary SSC Tuatara.

• Adios on Feb 20, 2013 at 1:13 am

523i? U mean Proton Juara? Cute.

• Sam Loo on Feb 22, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Sure, your 523i will need tow truck operators to be on standby 24/7

• AVH® on Feb 19, 2013 at 12:23 am

This is one design that will not age that fast, partly because it’s an aged design. but they did a good job by giving it that Jewel-Headlights to bring the entire aged design look modern, and in some angles, make it look absolutely stunning. Although from certain angles, especially the rear in the second main pic, looks like Acura followed the Kia K9’s strategy. IMO, It dose’t look bad….but neither is it good, very Japanese.

Anyways really like that two-screen interior and word is, there is an Earth Dream SH-AWD on the way, that will be awesome.

• It looks uninspiring. Oh well, being a Honda in the bone, it’ll sell.

• alldisc™ on Feb 19, 2013 at 10:18 am

such a weird design normally sells in America. look at their Buicks, Pontiacs and all.

• AVH® on Feb 19, 2013 at 11:12 am

I have to admit, yeah, uninspiring. But maybe they got the styling from the fame Lincoln Town Car. But honestly, a high end Japanese brand, is quite hard to fault Lexus.

• again? oh no, why honda copying another rear lamp design? front? errrr, sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • century on Feb 19, 2013 at 2:19 am

A perfect car for oldies

• Pro Geng Super on Feb 19, 2013 at 7:44 am

“popular mid-size luxury stalwarts like the BMW 5-Series, Audi A6 and Lexus GS”

No E-Class ? you have any idea what crap you are writing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • I’ve been wondering why Acuras can’t sell. And now I think I know why, perhaps it’s because they don’t differ too much in terms of specs, technology, accessories and looks when compared to Honda models.

I mean, one can practically get 90% the goodies in this car if he/she goes for the highest spec Accord. Why spend more on an Acura when they’re nearly the same?

• sepul on Feb 19, 2013 at 9:31 am

Still look like a Honda with an A badge. Only thing I like is the headlamps.

• It looks like a kia cadenza

• Sam Loo on Feb 22, 2013 at 10:17 pm

The big difference is, when the Kia owners sells his car after 1 year, it will only be worth 50% of purchase price

• the driver on Feb 19, 2013 at 10:35 am

The major weakness of Honda or any other Japanese and Korean car is the ride. They just cannot seem to be able to combine a comfortable, quiet ride with good handling. Every other box can be ticked, like power, quietness, smoothness of engine but its always either a soft ride but no handling or great handling but a hard ride. Look at Camry vs Civic Type R.

• errie on Feb 19, 2013 at 6:17 pm

try a citra, you will know lol

• u should read new lexus gs reviews, or if u can, go test drive it.

• That was the case during the 90’s.

That is completely wrong if you look at the new models from Lexus, Infiniti, and even mass-market models from Mazda and the new Toyota models.

European-car-worshipper, shame on you!

• Joe Radzif on Feb 19, 2013 at 1:26 pm

ish…
    not hensem…

• HONpengDA on Feb 19, 2013 at 7:06 pm

kadajawi is super moron, do research before u speak, who said acura is a near dead brand, i totally agree with zack. Facts dont tell lies.

• AVH® on Feb 20, 2013 at 12:04 am

I disagree, having read Kadajawi comments before, he does do his research, so is definitely no moron. He is just determine to see the fall of T and H and maybe even N, or at least from my perception, no offence Kadajawi.

But I ,myself as a Honda fan, agrees, Honda has to really differentiate Acura from a common Honda. It looks like a Honda with some minor changes and a A badge. dose’t even look luxury when compared to a Lexus or an Infinity.

• HONpengDA on Feb 19, 2013 at 10:28 pm

hope honda malaysia will introduce acura brand in malaysia here.

• beemer on Feb 19, 2013 at 11:30 pm

This is much better than M5 and e-klasse! I will trade in my M5 for this

• Kia Design is Better..

• VW Fanboi on Feb 20, 2013 at 8:34 pm

My Passat is much faster than this Honcura.